SENATE JOURNAL

EIGHTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE — FOURTH CALLED SESSION

AUSTIN, TEXAS

PROCEEDINGS

THIRD DAY

(Continued) (Thursday, November 30, 2023)

AFTER RECESS

The Senate met at 11:00 a.m. and was called to order by Senator Zaffirini.

RESOLUTIONS OF RECOGNITION

The following resolutions were adopted by the Senate:

Memorial Resolutions

- **SR 40** by Hughes, In memory of Suzanne Linbeck Reynolds.
- **SR 42** by Hughes, In memory of Lou Ethel Gaw.
- **SR 44** by Middleton, In memory of Robert Lee Moody Sr.
- SR 45 by Zaffirini, In memory of Javier Garza.
- **SR 51** by Hughes, In memory of C. Garth Cline.
- SR 52 by Hughes, In memory of Charlotte Ann Nix Newsom.
- **SR 53** by Hughes, In memory of Robert E. Van Cleave.
- SR 54 by Hughes, In memory of Doris Jane Sheridan.
- SR 58 by Hughes, In memory of Bill W. Harper.
- **SR 59** by Hughes, In memory of Carolyn Doss Kerns.
- **HCR 4** (Sparks), In memory of former state representative Walter David Counts Jr. of Knox City.
- **HCR 15** (Huffman), In memory of former Brazoria County sheriff and judge E. J. "Joe" King.

Congratulatory Resolutions

- **SR 37** by Zaffirini, Recognizing Elizabeth Noel Harwerth for her appointment to the Order of the British Empire.
- **SR 38** by Eckhardt, Recognizing Robert L. Alexander on the occasion of his 65th birthday.
- **SR 39** by Flores, Recognizing the Leander Independent School District for being named the College Board Advanced Placement Large District of the Year.

- **SR 41** by Schwertner, Recognizing the Cameron Lions Club on the occasion of its 100th anniversary.
- **SR 43** by Eckhardt, Recognizing Hill-Bert's Burgers on the occasion of its 50th anniversary.
- **SR 46** by Zaffirini, Recognizing South Texas College on the occasion of its 30th anniversary.
- **SR 47** by Zaffirini, Recognizing Falls City, Francisco Farias, and Roel A. & Celia R. Saenz Elementary Schools and Hector J. Garcia Early College High School for their selection as National Blue Ribbon Schools.
- **SR 48** by LaMantia and Hinojosa, Recognizing Charles W. Zahn Jr. on his tenure as chair of the Port of Corpus Christi Commission.
- **SR 49** by LaMantia, Recognizing Jose Victor Baldovinos for his work as environmental health director for the City of South Padre Island.
- **SR 50** by LaMantia, Recognizing Edgar Cruz as the vice president of the Texas Environmental Health Association South Texas Chapter.
- **SR 55** by Zaffirini, Recognizing members of the Travis County Probate Court for their pro bono efforts in behalf of The Arc of the Capital Area.
- **SR 56** by Hinojosa and LaMantia, Recognizing Alejandra Llanos for being named the National Youth of the Year by the Boys and Girls Clubs of America.
- SR 57 by Hinojosa, Recognizing Mark Majek on the occasion of his retirement.
- **SR 60** by Hughes, Recognizing the Carthage High School football team for winning a state championship.
- SR 61 by Menéndez, Recognizing Gina E. Gallegos on the occasion of her retirement.
- **SR 63** by West, Recognizing Joseph Jackson on his elevation to the office of Auxiliary Bishop in the Church of God in Christ, International.
- **SR 64** by West, Recognizing Children and Family Institute on the occasion of its 30th anniversary.
- **HCR 6** (Sparks), Congratulating former Midland High School baseball coach Barry Russell on his induction into the Midland ISD Hall of Legends.
- **HCR 7** (Sparks), Congratulating Jerod Foster on being named a Distinguished Alumni by the Texas Tech Alumni Association.
- **HCR 8** (Sparks), Congratulating John Billingsley of Dallas on being named a Distinguished Alumni by the Texas Tech Alumni Association.
- **HCR 9** (Sparks), Congratulating John C. Owens of Lubbock on being named a Distinguished Alumni by the Texas Tech Alumni Association.
- **HCR 10** (Sparks), Congratulating Terri McColloch on her induction into the Midland ISD Hall of Legends.

HCR 11 (Sparks), Congratulating Tyrone Thurman on his induction into the Midland ISD Hall of Legends.

HCR 12 (Sparks), Paying tribute to Terry Williamson on the occasion of his posthumous induction into the Midland ISD Hall of Legends.

HCR 13 (Sparks), Congratulating Jesse Benavidez on his induction into the Midland ISD Hall of Legends.

HCR 14 (Sparks), Congratulating Fred Underwood on being named a Distinguished Alumni by the Texas Tech Alumni Association.

RECESS (Motion In Writing)

Senator Hughes offered the following Motion In Writing:

Mr. President:

I move that the Senate recess until 11:00 a.m., Friday, December 1st.

HUGHES

The Motion In Writing was read and prevailed without objection.

The Senate at 11:04 a.m. recessed until 11:00 a.m. tomorrow.

APPENDIX

RESOLUTIONS ENROLLED

November 30, 2023

SR 37, SR 38, SR 39, SR 40, SR 41, SR 42, SR 43, SR 44, SR 45, SR 46, SR 47, SR 48, SR 49, SR 50, SR 51, SR 52, SR 53, SR 54, SR 55, SR 56, SR 57, SR 58, SR 59, SR 60, SR 61, SR 63, SR 64